School Decisions

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 awhipl

awhipl

• Designer
  • 62 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 01:46 AM

So I'll try to keep this relatively short. I'm looking to get an outside perspective or some opinions on what I'm considering doing.

Currently I'm a sophomore at the University of California Santa Cruz. I'm currently pre-film but have realized that I made my decision to attend UCSC because it was the UC that I got into and had a major I was interested in (film.)

What I've now discovered is that in everything that I do, nothing excites me as much as working with graphics design (logos, sites, brainstorming etc.) which is something I've been doing for many years on a small scale just as a personal interest.

After speaking with a career counselor at the university and coming to the conclusion it'd be extremely difficult for me to try and piece together classes and try to make my own major, I'm now considering the following:

Stopping my course at UCSC and attending Cabrillo college, the local community college that has a very good digital media program (program introduction, design management etc) to get an AA, become better versed in the field and build a better portfolio to either transfer to a (CSU) or private art school, (Otis etc)

So my question is if you guys think it's a good idea to be taking courses aimed at the field I'm interested in and take the potential loss of x dollars that I've spent in two years at UCSC?

I'm extremely stressed and disappointed that only some classes may transfer and I've in some sense wasted time and money coming to this conclusion late in my college education.

Anyway, and thoughts would be appreciated.

-Adam

#2 rinaldidesigns

rinaldidesigns

Elite Designer

• Designer
  • 2258 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 02:24 AM

I'd say go for what you love doing, now it may be a loss, but in the long run, doing what you love, is the ultimate:)....