• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 creativerx

creativerx

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 12 posts

Posted 31 August 2004 - 02:17 AM

Currently, I'm a part-time freelancer looking to make the transition to full time. I'm just now starting to build my business and grow my customer base. I'd really like some ideas/suggestions for promoting my site, getting freelance jobs, and increasing site traffic. Can anyone tell me what has worked in the past for you or is currently working? I appreciate any help you could give me.

#2 BrianWakeland

BrianWakeland

Banned

• Banned
  • 50 posts

Posted 02 March 2005 - 07:38 PM

I'm in the same situation and I would also love some advice on this! Anyone? :p

#3 QuirkDesign

QuirkDesign

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 30 posts

Posted 04 March 2005 - 04:38 AM

I use Guru.com, ContractedWork.com, and eLance.com. It costs some money up front but it's worth it.

For website promotion there's Google AdWords.

Good luck! :)

• Guests

Posted 04 March 2005 - 09:01 PM

have you already got your website listed in any web design directories and catalogues? It will not tripple your traffic, but you shouldn't miss any opportunity to make your website more visible. Exchange links with fellow designers it will get you extra google page rank. Write articles and tutorials - google will send you visitors willing to learn and who knows, maybe some of them will hire you? Besides, if your articles are quite good bigger websites (like DesignContest.net) may publish them in exchange for the credits. These are some ideas. Good luck!

#5 Neupix

Neupix

Design Team Member

• Designer
  • 1146 posts

Posted 04 March 2005 - 10:06 PM

I don't know about you, but here there are many non-profit magazines, newspapers, and even a free daily newsletter that go around my city. There are many sections in these little papers for advertising, and I am guessing the price is pretty cheap to get listed.